Black Stockings

With Dr. Lee Teply’s memorial service date finally set, I had to find myself a pair of black stockings.  In Japan where I come from, women wear absolutely all black to any death related service.  Even the pearls are black.  It seems there is no such expectation here, but I felt the need to wear black stockings.

My freshman year of college, I had the honor of singing with the Madrigal Singers directed by Dr. Teply.  For every concert he insisted the women wear either long black slacks or a black skirt with black stockings.  No skin was to be showing.  It was only fair I suppose.  For all of our concerts the men wore long black slacks or colorful stockings with their Renaissance costumes.  Exasperated by this stipulation, I asked him one concert why we had to wear them.  

“It’s professional!”  He seemed more exasperated than I was that I had even dared to question the dress code.

He certainly was professional in a traditional sense.

As I have performed more, I have come to realize that the black stockings thing really is a preference.  The feminist in me wants to throw them out the window and claim my right to wear what I like.  Sometimes I do.  If I want to wear red shoes with beige panty-hoes and a black dress, I will thank you very much.

Today was different though.  Today I wore black stockings.  Today was about honoring a man who taught me not only how to sing early choral music, but also about honoring a man who modeled how to care for my future students’ well being.  He cared so very much for us.  I suppose my way of honoring him today was by wearing black stockings.

May you rest in peace, Dr. Lee Teply.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment